Image

The Making of The Butterfly Paintings

“Just living is not enough,” said the butterfly, “one must have sunshine, freedom and a little flower.”  ~Hans Christian Andersen

Being a poet as well as visual artist the symbolism of butterflies appeals to me.  For me their strongest message is that change can have a beautiful outcome.  From very early butterflies have had strong presence in my work.  My first and so far only self-portrait, completed when I was in high school, includes a butterfly (shown as the featured image on this blog piece).   The work resulted in one of our more prosaic teachers at the time telling a friend a mine the he ‘always knew she was crazy’.

Some people never go crazy, what truly horrible lives they must lead.” – Charles Bukowski

I take many photographs of butterflies and am excited every time I see a new kind.  So it seemed a natural progression to do a painting of them.  What started as a single painting, which happens periodically with me, turned into a series.  So far there are three paintings and I have another piece planned that will likely be in the medium I’m presently using most – color pencil.  I was delighted to find out that I’m in excellent company on this series since Van Gogh did a series of butterfly paintings as some of his final works.

Included below are the source photographs, studies (if there are any), and the paintings (individual and matted and framed group).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’re interested in purchasing this painting click here

 

 


Leave a Reply

