Image

The Making of “Trev B in C”

A man who works with his hands is a laborer; a man who works with his hands and his brain is a craftsman; but a man who works with his hands and his brain and his heart is an artist. – Louis Nizer

The first exhibit I submitted work to, The Sound of Canvas, was a themed, juried exhibit of visual art with a musical theme.

I had been photographing my step-sons during their band‘s shows and entered two of those photographs (one of which became the cover photo for my husband’s third book) but I wanted to paint something as well.  The youngest son, who recently founded another band, was the lead vocalist and guitarist then and one of my photographs fuzzily focused his hand and guitar neck.  I decided to try to paint a version of that photo.  I was on a deadline because I found out about the exhibit late so I opted to use acrylic paint which I had only begun working with the summer before.

Since I was relatively inexperienced with that medium and given its fast drying time, the first thing I did were studies – one in colored pencil and one in oil pastels.  After I had some very rough sketches I started on the painting.

Sitting outside listening to the birds and other spring sounds I painted the majority of this piece in one evening.  I was pleased with the results but had a difficult time coming up with a title for it.  So I did what I often do with such blockages – I turn to the best person I know for creatively using the English language – my husband, Jim Booth.

As a professor of writing and a published author he is always willing to provide assistance with these dilemmas.  His background as a musician and songwriter also played a hand in naming this week’s “Making of” painting.  The youngest son goes by Trev B in this band, and Jim noted he was playing a C-chord in the picture and thus the title ‘Trev B in C’.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 


Leave a Reply

