Image

The Making of: “All In A Row”

I raised cross-bred Nubian-Boer goats for close to eight years.  During that time I took hundreds of pictures of my herd and have a series of paintings based on many of those photographs – Caprine Colors,   When I walked up for feeding times the goats could see me from the pasture-side door well before I made it to the barn.  On several occasions I took photographs of their behaviors as I made my way toward them.  Sometimes they’d come running down and follow me up the fence line back to the barn.  Most often they would crowd into the barn door and observe my approach.  One such photograph was the basis for this next painting-in-progress.  While it was completed in 2012, I started sketching and painting it several years prior.
Below are the rough sketches and painting as they developed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

