Morning Rewards

The continuing discoveries of a 21st century artist and naturalist …

I don’t normally post every day but I wanted to follow-up on yesterday’s post because I had yet to ‘catch’ the Virginia Spiderworts’ blossoms open.  The blossoms only open in the morning and wilt by mid-day – each blossom lasting only one day. So this morning I took my camera out in search of at least one of those short-lived blossoms.

Below are the photographs I took of those flowers and one of my other rewards for an early walk to the river.  (Just so there’s no misunderstanding of the effort involved in this walk I want to add that the river – The New River – is right in front of our home with our land encompassing part of its bank.)

We have a young rabbit enjoying the fruits of our lawn and surrounding fields and as I headed down the driveway he was having a morning meal of white clover.  He sat so still that I was able to get within a couple of feet of him and capture his alert but motionless pose.

If you look closely you’ll see that I also captured other creatures having their morning repast – a caterpillar, a bee, and an unidentified bug on or near the Spiderwort blossoms.  I took a picture of our resident male Eastern Bluebird sitting on the power line with a worm in his beak but the sky was clouding up and I the shots I took were too dim.

So it’s not just the time of year but also the time of day that can make the difference in what you discover in nature.

 

Virginia Spiderwort - Morning Adoration

Virginia Spiderwort – Morning Adoration

Virginia Spiderwort Simple Beauty

Virginia Spiderwort Simple Beauty

 

 

 

 

 

 

Virginia Spiderwort - Being Courted

Virginia Spiderwort – Being Courted

Virginia Spiderworts Suitors and Shadows

Virginia Spiderworts Suitors and Shadows

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Virginia Spiderwort Blossoms - Open For Breakfast

Virginia Spiderwort Blossoms – Open For Breakfast

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"I can still see you."

“I can still see you.”

Perfect Stillness

Perfect Stillness


Leave a Reply

