On the first day of 2013…..

The day is not yet over and my first resolution has been broken.  I vowed not to touch my computer today and was able to avoid it until now.  I could have waited until tomorrow to write this post but the freshness and spontaneity I desired would have been lost.   “This won’t take long”, in my mind seemed enough of an excuse to flip open the laptop.

I’ve been reading today.  I do so a little each day; most of the time with my husband, Jim Booth, in our morning readings.  But today I continued a journey through the life of Georgia O’Keeffe which I started last summer.   The book is A Woman On Paper:  Georgia O’Keeffe  The Letters & Memoir of a Legendary Friendship by Anita Pollitzer.   While having commentary by Ms. Pollitzer, it is filled with letters from and to O’Keeffe giving it a personal and conversational tone.

So on this first day of 2013 I wanted to share a few items I found notable in today’s reading.

– Anita Pollitzer      

“In spite of the huge contrast with her past, Georgia somehow felt that here, near Alfred Stieglitz, was all of life for her – moving in the same direction.”

– Georgia to Anita, Canyon, Texas, October 5, 1916

“…I discovered that by running against the wind with a bunch of pine branches in your hand you could have the pine trees singing right in your ears.”

– Anita Pollitzer

“…when we were talking about his [Alfred Stieglitz] photographs, Georgia said with reverence, ‘Alfred handled a sheet of paper as if it were a butterfly’s wing.’ ”

And my favorite of the day……

– Georgia, in the exhibition announcement, January 1923 [Anderson Galleries – ‘One hundred pictures, oils, watercolors, pastels and drawings by Georgia O’Keeffe]

“I grew up pretty much as everybody grows up and one day seven years ago found myself saying to myself – I can’t live where I want to – I can’t even say what I want to – Schools and things that painters have taught me even keep me from painting as I want to.  I decided I was a very stupid fool not to at least paint as I wanted to and say what I wanted to when I painted as that seemed to be the only thing I could do that didn’t concern anybody but myself – that was nobody’s business but my own.”


Leave a Reply

