Image

Morning Blinds

My husband and I spend the first part of our morning reading together from selected books.  Right now we are reading a selection of Haiku (from A Box of Zen: Haiku The Poetry of Zen,Koans The Lessons of Zen, Sayings The Wisdom of Zen, a passage from The Daily Book of Art:  365 readings that teach, inspire & entertain, and Good Poems selected and Introduced by Garrison Keillor  We do this over our morning coffee beside each other on our bed alternating turns reading, each day, from each book.  It is the perfect start to our days and I cherish all the time and books we’ve shared this way.

This morning as we finished our readings I sat a few moments looking out the window.  The poem we had read ended with ‘O you were the best of all my days.’  It was such a lovely thought as I believe my husband, Jim, is the best of all my days – past, present, and future.  The morning light was angling through the blinds and as I thought about the precious, simple things and moments of life I thought, ‘I should draw the blinds as my sketch today.’  And that’s exactly what I did.

I hope you cherish the small moments in life and if you’ve forgotten how, I hope this little sketch brings a piece of that to you.

the start to today's sketch

the start to today’s sketch

the final - still sticking to my 'less than an hour' guideline for each drawing

the final – still ticking to my ‘less than an hour’ guideline for each drawing


One comment


Leave a Reply

